I’ve been on a bit of an Italian food kick of late so I thought I would share this recipe. It is one of my favorites and if I do say so myself; delicious.

Italian wedding soup

wedding soup

wedding soup

© 2006 Laurie Ann March
makes 6 to 8 servings

Italian wedding soup is, by far, one of my favorite meals on a cold and rainy day. It is a light meal yet fulfilling and very soothing.

1/2 pound ground chicken
1/2 pound ground veal
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup dried bread crumbs
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon dried basil
3 tablespoons minced onion
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
2 1/2 quarts chicken broth (homemade is best)
2 cups spinach or escarole – packed, rinsed and thinly sliced
1 cup very small pasta

In a medium bowl, combine the meats, eggs, bread crumbs, cheese, basil, garlic and onion. Shape mixture into small balls and set aside.

In a large stockpot heat chicken broth to boiling; stir in the spinach (or escarole), pasta and meatballs. Return to boil; reduce heat to medium. Simmer, stirring frequently, for 6 minutes or until pasta is al dente, and meatballs are cooked through. Serve hot with freshly grated parmiggiano-reggiano cheese and Italian bread.

