About a week ago my 7 year old boy, Tobias, and I went apple picking at a place called Brantwood Farms. It was loads of fun and now I have more apples than I know what to do with. Friday evening we had company for dinner so I whipped up a batch of apple crumble from my grandmother’s recipe. You can switch the apples out for peaches, plums, berries or a combination of fruits.

apple crumble

© 2008 Laurie Ann March
makes 4 servings

This is best served warm with a little table cream or ice cream. The recipe can easily be doubled.

2 1/2 cups prepared raw fruit
2 tablespoons white sugar
2 tablespoons butter
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup all purpose flour
3/4 cup rolled oats

Arrange the fruit in a buttered pan and sprinkle with white sugar. Cream the butter, brown sugar and salt together. Blend in the flour and rolled oats. Sprinkle the mixture over the fruit.

Bake at 375ºF for about 30 minutes or until the fruit is tender and the top is golden brown.

