Back in April I was invited to “cake day” at my friend Samantha’s house and I decided I was going to make something from my repetoire of salad recipes. I’m always playing with new ideas for salads and this one has become a favorite among even the pickiest people in our family. I included the recipe in my wilderness cookbook, A Fork in the Trail, because it works wonderfully for a first night of backpacking.  

spinach salad with red currant vinaigrette

© 2008 Laurie Ann March
this recipe is an excerpt from the book A Fork in the Trail

makes 3 – 4 servings

We often take it on picnics, to potluck dinners and on regular camping trips. This is also a recipe you can easily tinker with. Changing the jelly and/or the vinegar can create some interesting combinations.

1/4 cup red currant jelly
3 tablespoons mango, cranberry, or red wine vinegar
7 cups baby spinach
1 cup strawberries
1/2 cup canned mandarin oranges, drained
1/4 cup green onions or chives

Hull the strawberries and cut them in half. Remove the stems from the spinach. Chop the onion. Melt the red currant jelly with the mango vinegar in a small pot over medium-low heat. Let cool.

Combine the spinach, strawberries, mandarin oranges, and onions together in a bowl. Stir the dressing and pour it over the salad. Toss gently to coat.

